The 2023 United Nations (UN) climate change summit, COP28, starts on Thursday 30 November.

The Australian National University (ANU) has a range of experts who can speak about the negotiations, Australia’s role in global action to address climate change, our long-term plan to reach net zero and a number of other key issues.

ANU also has experts on the ground in Dubai for the summit.

Contact them directly via the details below or through ANU Media on +61 2 6125 7979 or media@anu.edu.au.

Professor Sharon Friel
School of Regulation and Global Governance 
Expertise: Climate change, health inequities
E: sharon.friel@anu.edu.au 
Attending COP28: NO

Dr Virginia Marshall
School of Regulation and Global Governance
Expertise: First Nations water rights, First Nations peoples and climate change, Asia Pacific, law, policy
E: virginia.marshall@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES

Dr Siobhan McDonnell
Crawford School of Public Policy
Expertise: Pacific climate negotiations, loss and damage
E: siobhan.mcdonnell@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES

Dr Arnagretta Hunter
Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
Expertise: Health, climate change, human future
E: arnagretta.hunter@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: NO

Professor Sotiris Vardoulakis
National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health
Expertise: Health, cities, air pollution, wildfires, climate extremes
E: sotiris.vardoulakis@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES

Professor Janette Lindesay
Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
Expertise: Climate change science, extreme weather events, how science informs climate policy discussions
E: janette.lindesay@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: NO

Professor Frank Jotzo
Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
Expertise: Environment and resource economics, economic development policy, environment policy
E: frank.jotzo@anu.edu.au 
Attending COP28: YES

Professor Mark Howden
Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
Expertise: Climate variability, extreme events and future scenarios, carbon removal
E: mark.howden@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: NO

Dr George Carter
Pacific Institute
Expertise: Pacific affairs, climate change negotiations, gender, finance, diplomacy, climate security
E: george.carter@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES (from 24 November – 12 December)

Associate Professor John Pye
School of Engineering
Expertise: Green steel, industrial decarbonisation, thermal energy systems, concentrating solar power
E: john.pye@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: NO

Brianna Gordon
Fenner School of Environment and Society
Expertise: Science (especially pollution related to climate change), First Nations matters
E: brianna.gordon@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES

Associate Professor Fiona Beck
School of Engineering
Expertise: Decarbonisation of industry, hydrogen and derivatives for decarbonisation
E: fiona.beck@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES

Associate Professor Christian Downie
School of Regulation and Global Governance
Expertise: International climate politics
E: christian.downie@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: NO

Mahealani Delaney
Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
Expertise: Civil society action at COP (particularly Pasifika groups)
E: mahealani.delaney@anu.edu.au and mahealanidelaney@gmail.com
Attending COP28: YES

Matea Nauto
Crawford School of Public Policy
Expertise: Climate diplomacy, small island states’ diplomacy
E: matea.nauto@anu.edu.au
Attending COP28: YES

Top image: ALEXSTUDIO/stock.adobe.com

Contact the media team

You may also like

Article Card Image

Australia’s most at-risk bird species share some common traits

Australian birds that live on islands are among the species most at risk of extinction, a first-of-its-kind ANU study has shown.

Article Card Image

Alternative fuels are no direct ticket to sustainable air travel

Sustainable aviation fuel sounds great for green travel, but the reality of their broader environmental impact is much more complicated.

Article Card Image

Australian climate action is heading the right way, just not fast enough

Low-cost renewables provide an easy win to help tackle a warming world, ANU expert says.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter

Anu Logo

+61 2 6125 5111

The Australian National University, Canberra

CRICOS Provider: 00120C

ABN: 52 234 063 906

EDX Logo
APRU Logo
IARU Logo
Group of eight Australia Logo