This weekend marks one year since the 2022 federal election. The Australian National University (ANU) has experts who can comment on the milestone and associated aspects of Australian politics and policy.

You can contact our experts via the details listed below. Alternatively, please reach out to the ANU Media team on our hotline +61 2 6125 7979 or by emailing media@anu.edu.au.

POLITICS AND ELECTIONS

Intifar Chowdhury
ANU School of Politics and International Relations

Expertise: Young people, gender, political elites, youth attitudes to democracy
M: +61 411 587 225
E: intifar.chowdhury@anu.edu.au

SOCIAL POLICY, HEALTH AND ECONOMICS

Professor Sharon Bessell
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy

Expertise: Poverty and inequality, food and housing insecurity, children’s policy
M: +61 437 629 197
E: sharon.bessell@anu.edu.au

Professor Robert Breunig  
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 

Expertise: Economic policy, tax policy, childcare and the labour market
M: +61 434 689 938  
E: robert.breunig@anu.edu.au

Dr Liz Allen
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

Expertise: Population and demography, social trends, population health, inequality, gender
M: +61 401 358 091
E: liz.allen@anu.edu.au

Dr Arnagretta Hunter
ANU College of Health and Medicine

Expertise: Health, climate change, the wellbeing economy
M: +61 418 419 414
E: arnagretta.hunter@anu.edu.au

NATIONAL SECURITY AND FOREIGN AFFAIRS

Professor Rory Medcalf 
ANU National Security College
Expertise: National security, defence, foreign policy, foreign interference
M: +61 417 799 278
E: rory.medcalf@anu.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy, the Defence Strategic Review
M: +61 414 496 212
E: paul.dibb@anu.edu.au

Dr William Stoltz
ANU National Security College 
Expertise: National security and foreign affairs
M: +61 400 273 727
E: william.stoltz@anu.edu.au

CLIMATE CHANGE AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Professor Mark Howden  
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
   
Expertise: Climate change
M: +61 429 026 050  
E: mark.howden@anu.edu.au

Professor Andrew Blakers  
ANU College of Engineering, Computer Science 

Expertise: Energy and climate change
M: +61 417 390 139 
E: andrew.blakers@anu.edu.au

ANU has a wide range of world-leading experts. You can also check our experts guide for further details.

Photo: Tracey Nearmy/ANU

Contact the media team

You may also like

Article Card Image

The government is well behind on Closing the Gap. This is why we needed a Voice to Parliament

Another year, and another Closing the Gap report comes before the parliament and the Australian people. This year,…

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: Do unto others

Paul Pickering joins us to break down what can be learnt from the leadership merry-go-round of the Abbott-Turnbull-Morrison years.

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: Dangerous allies

Mark Kenny and Marija Taflaga discuss the Abbott-Turnbull-Morrison years, stage three promises and the risk of a regional conflict erupting in the Middle East.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter

Anu Logo

+61 2 6125 5111

The Australian National University, Canberra

CRICOS Provider: 00120C

ABN: 52 234 063 906

EDX Logo
APRU Logo
IARU Logo
Group of eight Australia Logo