This weekend marks one year since the 2022 federal election. The Australian National University (ANU) has experts who can comment on the milestone and associated aspects of Australian politics and policy.

You can contact our experts via the details listed below. Alternatively, please reach out to the ANU Media team on our hotline +61 2 6125 7979 or by emailing media@anu.edu.au.

POLITICS AND ELECTIONS

Intifar Chowdhury
ANU School of Politics and International Relations

Expertise: Young people, gender, political elites, youth attitudes to democracy
M: +61 411 587 225
E: intifar.chowdhury@anu.edu.au

SOCIAL POLICY, HEALTH AND ECONOMICS

Professor Sharon Bessell
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy

Expertise: Poverty and inequality, food and housing insecurity, children’s policy
M: +61 437 629 197
E: sharon.bessell@anu.edu.au

Professor Robert Breunig  
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 

Expertise: Economic policy, tax policy, childcare and the labour market
M: +61 434 689 938  
E: robert.breunig@anu.edu.au

Dr Liz Allen
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

Expertise: Population and demography, social trends, population health, inequality, gender
M: +61 401 358 091
E: liz.allen@anu.edu.au

Dr Arnagretta Hunter
ANU College of Health and Medicine

Expertise: Health, climate change, the wellbeing economy
M: +61 418 419 414
E: arnagretta.hunter@anu.edu.au

NATIONAL SECURITY AND FOREIGN AFFAIRS

Professor Rory Medcalf 
ANU National Security College
Expertise: National security, defence, foreign policy, foreign interference
M: +61 417 799 278
E: rory.medcalf@anu.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy, the Defence Strategic Review
M: +61 414 496 212
E: paul.dibb@anu.edu.au

Dr William Stoltz
ANU National Security College 
Expertise: National security and foreign affairs
M: +61 400 273 727
E: william.stoltz@anu.edu.au

CLIMATE CHANGE AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Professor Mark Howden  
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
   
Expertise: Climate change
M: +61 429 026 050  
E: mark.howden@anu.edu.au

Professor Andrew Blakers  
ANU College of Engineering, Computer Science 

Expertise: Energy and climate change
M: +61 417 390 139 
E: andrew.blakers@anu.edu.au

ANU has a wide range of world-leading experts. You can also check our experts guide for further details.

Photo: Tracey Nearmy/ANU

Contact the media team

You may also like

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: the world of the pre-citizen

Legal and youth justice expert Faith Gordon joins Mark Kenny to discuss young people, social media and democracy.

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: the state and democracy

This week we are returning to the building blocks of politics and democracy, as philosopher Philip Pettit joins Mark Kenny to question assumptions.

Article Card Image

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese is determined to advance reconciliation

The Prime Minister reflected on the outcome of the Voice referendum on an episode of ANU podcast Democracy Sausage.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter