With the 2024-25 federal budget to be handed down on Tuesday 14 May, The Australian National University (ANU) has experts who can comment on a range of topics.  

You can contact our experts via the details listed below. Alternatively, please reach out to the ANU Media team on our hotline +61 2 6125 7979 or by emailing media@anu.edu.au.

The ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods is also hosting the ANU Budget Breakfast at Old Parliament House from 7.30-9am on Thursday 16 May. The breakfast will feature analysis from top economist Chris Richardson, Dr Daniel Mulino MP, Keith Wolahan MP, and ANU experts Associate Professor Ben Phillips and Kristen Sobeck. Professor Lorana Bartels will MC the event.

Media can register for this free event via Eventbrite.


ECONOMICS

Kristen Sobeck
Expertise: Tax and transfer policy
E: Kristen.Sobeck@anu.edu.au

Peter Martin   
Expertise: Macroeconomics, budget strategy
E: Peter.Martin@anu.edu.au

Professor Robert Breunig
Expertise: Tax policy, labour markets, childcare, welfare programs
E: Robert.Breunig@anu.edu.au

Professor Rohan Pitchford
Expertise: Supermarket price gouging
E: Rohan.Pitchford@anu.edu.au

Associate Professor Cagri Kumru
Expertise: Income tax policy
E: Cagri.Kumru@anu.edu.au

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Associate Professor Phong Ngo
Expertise: Domestic violence, intimate partner violence policy
E: phong.ngo@anu.edu.au

POLITICS 

Professor Mark Kenny
Expertise: Budgets as political exercises, elections, political economy, media
E: Mark.Kenny@anu.edu.au

EDUCATION  

Associate Professor Tim Higgins
Expertise: Higher education policy changes, including the HECS-HELP scheme
E: Tim.Higgins@anu.edu.au

Professor Andrew Norton
Expertise: Higher education, student loans
E: Andrew.Norton@anu.edu.au

SOCIAL POLICY

Associate Professor Ben Phillips
Expertise: Tax and welfare policy, housing, social policy
E: Ben.Phillips@anu.edu.au

Associate Professor Elise Klein 
Expertise: Social policy, social security spending including JobSeeker
E: Elise.Klein@anu.edu.au

Associate Professor Adam Butt
Expertise: Superannuation, retirement income policy
E: Adam.Butt@anu.edu.au

Dr Liz Allen
Expertise: Population, immigration, demography, inequality, housing, births
E: Liz.Allen@anu.edu.au

Professor Peter Whiteford
Expertise: Social security and welfare
E: Peter.Whiteford@anu.edu.au

INFRASTRUCTURE

Professor Sara Bice
Expertise: Social and community aspects of infrastructure, mining, renewables and energy (major engineering projects) including social risk management, social and socio-environmental impacts, ESG, social licence to operate, socio-economic inclusion, resilience and wellbeing
E: Sara.Bice@anu.edu.au

Professor Rohan Pitchford
Expertise: A Future Made in Australia policy
E: Rohan.Pitchford@anu.edu.au

ENVIRONMENT / SCIENCE

Associate Professor Emma Aisbett
Expertise: Indo-Pacific Framework for Economic Prosperity (IPEF), embedded emissions accounting frameworks, trade-related climate policy, green industrial policy, climate-friendly investment, International Green Economy Collaborations
E: Emma.Aisbett@anu.edu.au

Professor Frank Jotzo
Expertise: Climate change policy, energy policy, greenhouse gas emissions, decarbonisation and energy
E: Frank.Jotzo@anu.edu.au

Professor Mark Howden
Expertise: Climate change, climate risk, science-policy, agriculture and food security, energy transition
E: Mark.Howden@anu.edu.au

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Tom Worthington
Expertise: Higher education, computing, defence procurement
E: Tom.Worthington@anu.edu.au

Top image: Kym McLeod/stock.adobe.com

You may also like

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: Budgeting a soft landing

For this post-budget special, Elizabeth Ames and Peter Martin join us to break down whether this budget will allow a soft economic landing to cost of living and inflationary pressures.

Article Card Image

‘Health for all’: recognising breastfeeding as a carbon offset

Country investments in breastfeeding should be considered a carbon offset in global plans for sustainable food, health and economic systems, according to a new report led by experts from The Australian National University (ANU).

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: Saving the Australian dream

Mark and Marija discuss Scott Morrison's exit from politics, before housing affordability campaigner Maiy Azize joins us to propose solutions to Australia's housing crisis.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter