The Australian National University (ANU) has experts who can comment on various aspects of the AUKUS announcement between Australia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

You can contact our experts via the details listed below. Alternatively, please reach out to the ANU Media team on our hotline +61 2 6125 7979 or by emailing media@anu.edu.au

Professor John Blaxland
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre 

Expertise: Security, international relations, implications for Asia and Pacific security
M: +61 429 824 169
E: john.blaxland@anu.edu.au

Professor Rory Medcalf
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Defence and politics in Asia and the Pacific
M: +61 417 799 278
E: rory.medcalf@anu.edu.au

Dr Bianca Baggiarini
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
Expertise: Sovereignty debate, US-Australia military relations, emerging technologies, cultural preparedness, arms race, militarisation in the Indo-Pacific
M: +61 434 782 825
E: bianca.baggiarini@anu.edu.au

Dr Elizabeth Williams
ANU School of Cybernetics

Expertise: nuclear workforce and training requirements, safety-critical systems design
M: +61 2 6125 7979
E: elizabeth.williams@anu.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Roger Bradbury
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Technology policy, environmental impact, detection technology
M: +61 419 221 003 
E: roger.bradbury@anu.edu.au

Honorary Associate Professor Tony Irwin
ANU Department of Nuclear Physics and Accelerator Applications

Expertise: Nuclear reactors and fuel, the nuclear fuel cycle
M: +61 488 027 224
E: tonyirwin@bigpond.com

Dr Benjamin Herscovitch
ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance and ANU National Security College
Expertise: Australia-China relations, China’s reaction to the announcement, implications for relations with Taiwan, regional balance of power, regional reactions
M: +61 415 777 383
E: benjamin.herscovitch@anu.edu.au

Professor Stephan Frühling
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
Expertise: Defence policy, technology, industry implications
M: +61 431 866 920
E: stephan.fruehling@anu.edu.au

Professor Andrew Stuchbery
ANU Department of Nuclear Physics and Accelerator Applications

Expertise: Nuclear training and workforce requirements
M: +61 401 079 721
E: andrew.stuchbery@anu.edu.au

Dr Michael Cohen
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Australia’s response and defence/security needs, regional and global security
M: +61 439 398 360
E: mike.cohen@anu.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy
M: +61 414 496 212
E: paul.dibb@anu.edu.au

Dr David Brewster
ANU National Security College

Expertise: France and India’s foreign policy and reaction to the announcement
M: +61 413 021 218
E: dhbrewster@bigpond.com

Dr Edward Chan
ANU Australian Centre on China in the World

Expertise: China’s foreign policy and views on AUKUS, Indo-Pacific strategy and defence
Ph: +61 2 6125 7841
E: edward.chan@anu.edu.au

Associate Professor David Letts
ANU College of Law

Expertise: Legal issues, maritime security, law of the sea
M: +61 418 465 293
E: david.letts@anu.edu.au

Honorary Professor Leszek Buszynski
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
Expertise: Regional political and defence issues, including in the Indo-Pacific, China and Japan
M: +61 415 341 387
E: leszek.buszynski@anu.edu.au

Mr David Andrews 
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy, Australia’s military strategy/strategic outlook, the relationship between defence strategy and capability acquisitions
M: +61 400 464 378
E: david.andrews@anu.edu.au

Mr Tom Worthington
ANU School of Computing

Expertise: Military technology and concept development, Work Integrated Learning
M: +61 419 496 150
E: tom.worthington@anu.edu.au

Top image: kamachai charoenpongchai/EyeEm/stock.adobe.com

You may also like

Article Card Image

Rentals are grim and expensive. Should young people squat instead?

In this age of cozzie livs, TikToker Purple Pingers is offering Gen Z unconventional housing advice.

Article Card Image

It takes a village: why resettling refugees should be a community effort

Australia is seeking to resettle more refugees through new initiatives. But how does this benefit our nation, and regional areas in particular?

Article Card Image

Apocalypse tomorrow: how AI is changing war

As artificial intelligence changes our battlefields how can we maintain restraint and humanity in our military campaigns?

Subscribe to ANU Reporter