As we approach the release of the Defence Strategic Review, The Australian National University (ANU) has experts who can comment on the review and the government’s response.

You can contact our experts via the details listed below. Alternatively, please reach out to the ANU Media team on our hotline +61 2 6125 7979 or by emailing media@anu.edu.au.

Dr Bianca Baggiarini
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
Expertise: US-Australia military relations, emerging technologies, militarisation in the Indo-Pacific
M: +61 434 782 825
E: bianca.baggiarini@anu.edu.au

Dr Benjamin Herscovitch
ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance and ANU National Security College
Expertise: Australia-China relations, other China-related topics
M: +61 415 777 383
E: benjamin.herscovitch@anu.edu.au

Professor Stephan Früehling
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
Expertise: Defence policy and technology
M: +61 431 866 920
E: stephan.fruehling@anu.edu.au

Associate Professor Danielle Ireland-Piper
ANU National Security College
Expertise: Law and national security, space law
M: +61 417 237 905
E: danielle.ireland-piper@anu.edu.au

Dr William Stoltz
ANU National Security College

Expertise: International security, Australian foreign policy, national security, Australian history
M: +61 400 273 727
E: william.stoltz@anu.edu.au

Dr Michael Zekulin
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

Expertise: Terrorism, extremism
M: +61 414 086 314
E: michael.zekulin@anu.edu.au

Jennifer Jackett
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Science and technology
M: +61 401 627 606
E: jennifer.jackett@anu.edu.au

Natalie Sambhi
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Expertise: Indonesia, Southeast Asia
M: +61 413 307 722
E: natalie.sambhi@anu.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy
M: +61 414 496 212
E: paul.dibb@anu.edu.au

Dr Edward Chan
ANU Australian Centre on China in the World

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy
P: +61 2 6125 7841
E: Edward.Chan@anu.edu.au

Dr Charles Miller
ANU School of Politics and International Relations

Expertise: International relations
M: +61 452 372 261
E: charles.miller@anu.edu.au

Honorary Professor Richard Brabin-Smith
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Expertise: Defence policy
M: +61 404 461 450
E: richard.brabin-smith@anu.edu.au

Dr Andrew Carr
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Expertise: Defence studies, Australian government and politics, international relations
M: +61 421 728 207
E: Andrew.Carr@anu.edu.au

Dr Michael Cohen
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Australia’s defence and security needs, regional and global security
M: +61 439 398 360
E: mike.cohen@anu.edu.au

Dr Zena Assad
ANU School of Engineering

Expertise: Human-machine teaming, regulation of autonomous systems, robotics and artificial intelligence
M: +61 400 464 378
E: zena.assad@anu.edu.au

David Andrews 
ANU National Security College

Expertise: Defence and foreign policy, Australia’s military strategy and strategic outlook, the relationship between defence strategy and capability acquisitions
M: +61 400 464 378
E: david.andrews@anu.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Roger Bradbury
ANU National Security College
Expertise: Complex systems science, strategy and statecraft in cyberspace
M: +61 419 221 003
E: roger.bradbury@anu.edu.au

Tom Worthington
ANU College of Engineering, Computing and Cybernetics
Expertise: Cyber warfare, drones
M: +61 419 496 150
E: tom.worthington@anu.edu.au

Top image: Rafael Ben-Ari/stock.adobe.com

Contact the media team

You may also like

Article Card Image

Explaining the Prabowo landslide

Prabowo’s win was made possible by his enduring strongman appeal and a playing field tipped in his favour by Jokowi.

Article Card Image

PNG has key role in the Pacific’s future security: PM Marape

Prime Minister James Marape outlines his bold vision for PNG and its long-lasting ties and deep ties with Australia in major ANU address.

Article Card Image

Should Donald Trump be disqualified from state ballots in presidential election? Here’s how the US Supreme Court might rule

As former President Trump’s appeals against moves to disqualify him from ballots this week, how are the US Supreme Court likely to respond?

Subscribe to ANU Reporter

Anu Logo

+61 2 6125 5111

The Australian National University, Canberra

CRICOS Provider: 00120C

ABN: 52 234 063 906

EDX Logo
APRU Logo
IARU Logo
Group of eight Australia Logo