In the lead-up to the 14 October referendum on the Voice to Parliament, The Australian National University (ANU) has experts available to comment.

You can contact our experts via the details listed below. Alternatively, please reach out to the ANU Media team on our hotline +61 2 6125 7979 or by emailing media@anu.edu.au.

FIRST NATIONS HISTORY, POLITICS AND CULTURE

Mr James Blackwell (Wiradjuri) 

Research Fellow in Indigenous Diplomacy, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific 
Expertise: Indigenous politics and policy, the Uluru Statement, Voice to Parliament, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, language and history 
Ph: +61 2 6125 7979
E: James.Blackwell@anu.edu.au

Dr Stewart Sutherland 
Lecturer, ANU College of Health and Medicine 
Expertise: First Nations culture, identity and stolen generations, Indigenous health and reconciliation 
M: +61 418 243 393
E: Stewart.Sutherland@anu.edu.au

CONSTITUTIONAL LAW

Associate Professor Ron Levy 

Associate Professor, ANU College of Law 
Expertise: Constitutional law, public law, referendums 
M: +61 407 580 995 
E: Ron.Levy@anu.edu.au 

MARKETING

Dr Stephen Dann 

Senior Lecturer, ANU College of Business and Economics 
Expertise: Media messaging strategy, general advertising campaign 
M: +61 407 591 470 
E: Stephen.Dann@anu.edu.au  

AUSTRALIAN POLITICS

Intifar Chowdhury 

Associate Lecturer, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences
Expertise: Australian politics, young people, young voters, corporate involvement, migrant sentiment 
M: +61 411 587 225
E: Intifar.Chowdhury@anu.edu.au

Professor Matt Qvortrup  
Visiting Professor, ANU College of Law 
Expertise: Referendums  
M: +61 432 811 859
E: Drqvortrup@gmail.com

Professor Mark Kenny 
Professor, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences
Expertise: Australian politics, democracy  
M: +61 415 942 752
E: Mark.Kenny@anu.edu.au

ANU has a wide range of world-leading experts. You can also check our experts guide for further details.

Top image: Michael Nelson Jagamara (c. 1945-2020) (artist), Warlpiri people, with William McIntosh (stone consultant), Aldo Rossi (1919-1991) (stonemason), Franco Colussi (born 1938) (stonemason), Forecourt mosaic pavement, 1986-1987, Art/Craft Program, Parliament House Art Collection. Copyright estate of the artist licensed by Aboriginal Artists Agency Ltd.

Contact the media team

You may also like

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: Anthony Albanese on two years in the top job

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese joins Democracy Sausage to reflect on two years in office.

Article Card Image

Aussies want more forward-thinking politics

A new report shows 81 per cent of Australians agree our politicians generally think too short-term when making decisions.  

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: Budgeting a soft landing

For this post-budget special, Elizabeth Ames and Peter Martin join us to break down whether this budget will allow a soft economic landing to cost of living and inflationary pressures.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter