An academic and medical practitioner who has made significant contributions to healthcare is one of several members of The Australian National University (ANU) community who were recognised in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours. 

Professor of Primary Care Reform, Michael Kidd was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) by Governor-General David Hurley for distinguished service in medical administration and community health, primary care leadership and tertiary education. 

Professor Kidd, who is also Australia’s Deputy Chief Medical Officer, worked as a general practitioner for over 35 years, with special interests in the care of people with HIV, mental health and Indigenous health. His research interests include global health, primary care and the education of health professionals. 

Honorary Associate Professor Tony Badrick was named Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to diagnostic pathology and to education. 

Dr Badrick has had a distinguished career in medicine, government and academia, including as the current Chief Examiner at the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. 

He was a Visiting Fellow at the National Centre for Epidemiology and Public Health (NCEPH) and the John Curtin School of Medicine at ANU between 2015 and 2017 and has continued in an honorary capacity at NCEPH since 2018.  

Dr Fergus Gardiner, who was Director of the Royal Flying Doctor Service’s COVID-19 Response through ‘Operation Shield’, was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to medicine. 

Dr Gardiner is an Honorary Senior Lecture at the ANU Centre for Public Health Data and Policy and was a Senior Research Fellow between 2017 and 2020. 

Marina Go, a member of the ANU Centre for Asian-Australian Leadership Advisory Board, was awarded an AM for her work in business governance, sport administration and the media. 

Ms Go had a distinguished career in media as a journalist, editor and executive, before moving into senior corporate roles in sport and business, as well as at ANU. 

Professor Jennifer McKay and Dr James Renwick, both of whom hold adjunct roles at ANU, were awarded an AM for their service to the law and to national security, respectively. 

Several former members of the ANU community were also honoured this year. 

Among them were Professor David Ellwood, who was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to medicine, research and tertiary education, and professional associations. 

Professor Ellwood was Deputy Dean and Head of the Clinical School of Medicine from 2006 to 2013, and Associate Dean for several years before that. 

Former Chair of the National Centre for Indigenous Genomics at ANU, Dr Misty Jenkins, was also awarded an AO for distinguished service to medical science, the promotion of women in STEM and the Indigenous community. 

On issuing the honours, Governor-General David Hurley said the diversity of recipients and expertise “is uplifting and makes me enormously optimistic for our country.” 

“They are all inspiring and their service is valued by us all,” the Governor-General said.

You may also like

Article Card Image

‘It’s like winning Eurovision’: an ANU graduate’s journey from kangaroo whisperer to global dance sensation

ANU graduate and biologist 'WELI' knows more about kangaroos than most. He's hopped to the number one spot in the 2024 Dance Your PhD global contest with his quirky submission, ‘Kangaroo Time (Club Edit)’.

Article Card Image

ANU parasite expert named science teacher of the year

A professor from ANU helping humanity deal with the deadly consequences of parasites, including malaria, has been named one of Australia’s best science teachers.

Article Card Image

Parasite insights: the award-winning scientist teaching the world about deadly diseases

They may be small, but parasites can cause large-scale damage. Award-winning researcher and teacher Professor Alexander Maier wants to change that.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter

Anu Logo

+61 2 6125 5111

The Australian National University, Canberra

CRICOS Provider: 00120C

ABN: 52 234 063 906

EDX Logo
Group of eight Australia Logo