ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt has been appointed Chair of the Group of Eight universities.

Professor Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor of The Australian National University (ANU), has been appointed Chair of Australia’s leading research-intensive universities.

The Nobel prize-winning astrophysicist will commence as Chair of the Group of Eight (GO8) universities on 1 February 2023.

Professor Schmidt, who has previously served as Deputy Chair of the Go8, said he was proud to take on the role.

 “Australian universities make a major contribution to the prosperity, wellbeing and security of Australia – none more than the Group of Eight.

“Our research improves lives, drives innovation, creates jobs and powers our economy to the tune of billions each year.

“Together we drive Australia’s vital role as a leading nation for knowledge, discovery and education.

“I look forward to working with all my colleagues to ensure our universities – the very best our nation boasts – continue to deliver major benefits for all Australians.”

Go8 Chief Executive Vicki Thomson said Professor Schmidt’s appointment would ensure the continuity of excellent leadership at the helm of the organisation.

“Professor Schmidt is an outstanding appointment to replace outgoing Chair and Monash University Vice-Chancellor, Professor Margaret Gardner, who expertly guided the Go8 through the significant challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

The Go8 is comprised of ANU, the University of Melbourne, the University of Sydney, the University of Queensland, the University of Western Australia, the University of Adelaide, Monash University and UNSW Sydney.

You may also like

Article Card Image

We must rebuild a uni sector that powers a prosperous future

Research in Australia’s universities should be driven by curiosity and education by student need, not commerce.

Article Card Image

Democracy Sausage: The Queen is dead with Stan Grant

Stan Grant discusses the importance of speaking truth with love, his decision to step away from media and his new book, The Queen is dead.

Article Card Image

ANU pays tribute to Allan Gyngell

The University community is mourning the loss of one of Australia's most influential national security and foreign policy minds.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter

Anu Logo

+61 2 6125 5111

The Australian National University, Canberra

CRICOS Provider: 00120C

ABN: 52 234 063 906

EDX Logo
Group of eight Australia Logo