The United Nation’s climate change summit, COP27, starts this Sunday.

The Australian National University (ANU) has a range of experts who can speak about the negotiations, Australia’s role in global action to address climate change, our long-term plan to reach net zero and a number of other key issues.

ANU also has experts on the ground in Egypt for the summit.

Contact them directly via the details below or through ANU Media on +61 2 6125 7979 or media@anu.edu.au.

ANU experts attending COP

Professor Stephen Bygrave 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 408 907 686 
Email: stephen.bygrave@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Policy, history of climate negotiations, health, status of negotiations, climate change, renewable energy, national renewable energy targets 

Dr Virginia Marshall 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 421 567 701 
Email: virginia.marshall@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Human rights, Indigenous issues, climate change and Asia Pacific, law, policy, water, Indigenous medicines and foods 

Dr George Carter 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Email: george.carter@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Pacific affairs, climate change negotiations, cross cultural communication 

Akka Rimon 
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific 
Email: akka.rimon@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Economic adaptation to climate, effect of climate change on human displacement   

Dr Siobhan McDonnell
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Email: siobhan.mcdonnell@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Loss and damage, gender and climate change, Pacific region

Commentary on COP 27 negotiations and environmental policy

Professor Mark Howden 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 429 026 050 
Email: mark.howden@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Climate variability, extreme events and future scenarios, carbon removal 

Professor Frank Jotzo 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 400 357 252 
Email: frank.jotzo@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Environment and resource economics, economic development policy, environment policy 

Finance

Associate Professor Christian Downie 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Email: christian.downie@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Global energy policy, global climate change policy 

Professor Paul Burke 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy  
Ph: +61 421 083 933 
Email: paul.j.burke@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Energy economics, environmental economics, climate 

Loss and damage

Dr Melanie Pill 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 434 475 847 
Email: melanie.pill@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Loss and damage, climate change adaptation, Australia’s commitment to the Champions Group on Adaptation Finance, Small Island Developing States, IPCC, European position and policies on international climate negotiations 

Science

Professor Nerilie Abram 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: 02 6125 1978 
Email: nerilie.abram@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Climate change science and impacts, atmospheric sciences 

Health

Professor Sotiris Vardoulakis 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 490 711 964 
Email: sotiris.vardoulakis@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Climate change and health, bushfires, heatwaves, floods, air pollution and health, built environment and clean energy interventions 

Dr Arnagretta Hunter 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 418 419 414 
Email: arnagretta.hunter@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Health, climate change, human future   

Professor Sharon Friel 
ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance
Ph: +61 410 356 194 
Email: sharon.friel@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Climate change and health, health inequity

Energy

Professor Frank Jotzo 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions 
Ph: +61 400 357 252 
Email: frank.jotzo@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Environment and resource economics, economic development policy, environment policy 

Associate Professor John Pye 
ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science 
Ph: +61 408 793 626 
Email: john.pye@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Green steel, industrial decarbonisation, thermal energy storage, concentrating solar power 

Associate Professor Christian Downie 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
Ph: +61 419 014 464 
Email: christian.downie@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: International climate negotiations, politics of climate change and fossil fuels, lobbying 

Land and agriculture

Professor Justin Borevitz 
ANU Research School of Biology 
Ph: 02 6125 3068
Email: justin.borevitz@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Agriculture, land/forestry and carbon offsets 

Top image: Richard Carey/stock.adobe.com

Contact the media team

You may also like

Article Card Image

Fishing in tandem brings benefits for people and dolphins 

Humans and bottlenose dolphins are working together to catch fish off the coast of Brazil.

Article Card Image

Fighting fires from space: how satellites and other tech could prevent catastrophic bushfires 

ANU researchers are using algorithms, drones and satellites to detect bushfires before they become natural disasters.

Article Card Image

Aussies snakes are undervalued: here’s how to be a friend from afar

We might not like it, but snakes are part of our environment - even in urban areas. We're often worried about what they might do to us, but have you thought about what we might do to them?

Subscribe to ANU Reporter

Anu Logo

+61 2 6125 5111

The Australian National University, Canberra

CRICOS Provider: 00120C

ABN: 52 234 063 906

EDX Logo
APRU Logo
IARU Logo
Group of eight Australia Logo