Several extraordinary members of The Australian National University (ANU) community have been named in the 2024 Australia Day Honours list.

This year’s honours list recognises and celebrates 1,042 Australians. It includes awards in the Order of Australia (General and Military Divisions), meritorious awards and recognition for distinguished and conspicuous service.

Three current ANU staff and three emeritus staff members were among those recognised by Governor-General David Hurley for their outstanding achievements across a broad range of fields, and their invaluable contribution to Australian society.

Emeritus Fellow Colin Steele, former University Librarian (1980-2002), was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to librarianship and digital information sharing.

Emeritus Fellow Colin Steele speaks at Llewellyn Hall on 13 September 2023. Photo: Tracey Nearmy/ANU

“It’s a great honour and would not have been possible without the support of my wife Anna and my colleagues at ANU,” Steele says.

“The award recognises and reinforces the importance of libraries, books, open access to knowledge and sources of trusted information in an increasingly global digital world.”

Also awarded an AM were Clinical Associate Professor Kathleen Tymms and Emeritus Professor Christian Joseph Lueck.

Tymms, a Canberra Health Services rheumatology physician specialist, was acknowledged for her significant service to rheumatology and professional associations.

Lueck was named for his significant service to neurology and neuro-ophthalmology through medical research and clinical practice.

Professor Kuntala Lahiri-Dutt was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), recognised for her distinguished service to natural resource management research and innovation, to gender equality and to tertiary education.

Professor Kuntala Lahiri-Dutt was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO). Photo: Jamie Kidston/ANU

Emeritus Professor Peter McDonald, former ABS independent assurance panel member for the 2021 and 2016 census, also received an AO this year. He was recognised for his distinguished service to demographic research, to policy development and professional associations.

Associate Professor Allen-John Edward Collins was recognised for his service to medicine through a range of roles, receiving a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

ANU also pays tribute to Sophie Trevitt, an extraordinary alumna of the University, who was posthumously awarded an AM.

An award-winning human rights lawyer, Trevitt led an inspiring fight for social justice issues and fearlessly campaigned for the rights of incarcerated First Nations children and their families.

Trevitt passed away on 27 July 2023, leaving behind a remarkable legacy. In December, ANU named her as joint recipient of the Young Alumna of the Year award.

The Governor-General said that this year’s winners “have the thanks and respect” of the nation.

“In my experience most are humble and often try to deflect attention or praise – please enjoy the moment because your country has decided that you deserve recognition.”

A full list of our community members, including alumni, who have been honoured will be added to the awards section of the ANU alumni website in coming weeks.

You may also like

Article Card Image

“The world lost one of its best people”: Sophie Trevitt’s remarkable legacy

Paying tribute to the legacy of an extraordinary young graduate who dedicated her life to changing the world.

Article Card Image

Seven extraordinary alumni shaping a better world

The University has proudly celebrated the outstanding contributions of its alumni community at the 2023 ANU Alumni Awards.

Article Card Image

ANU experts recognised in King’s Birthday Honours

Several members of the ANU community were recognised in the 2023 King's Birthday Honours.

Subscribe to ANU Reporter